Village Bistrica belongs to the type of dense village settlements. It is located near a river of the same name and about 15km to the southeast of Petrovac. The first preserved reference of the village can be found in the Knez Lazar Charter issued in the time of monastery Gornjak founding in 1387.
A specific location and natural conditions of this area created a unique rural unit consisting of residential and commercial buildings of national architecture. In Bistrica village area there are ten preserved water mills and three rolling mills from XIX century, a farm from XIX century, “crkvište” with an old monastery residues and a new church, an old village center with public facilities, as well as old log houses, semi – log houses, “chatam” houses and stone – built houses from XIX and the beginning of XХ century. The rural structure and partially preserved objects enable the track of historical development, the village expansion, objects architecture, their function and supplements.
Within the spatial cultural – historical unit there are rolling mill Marjanović, rolling mill Tomašević, Novičić Milan’s mill, Nikolić Branislav’s mill, Milošević Radosav’s mill, Jović Ratko’s mill, Marjanović Miroslav mill, Miljković Milorad’s mill, Tomašević Brana’s mill, Mladenović Života’s mill, Zdravković Dušan’s mill, Joksimović Dragutin’s mill, a church with “crkvište” from 1936, a rolling mill under the church, Tomašević Stojan farm, Antic Nevenka house, Savić Čeda house, local community building, old school building, Stevanović Miroslav house, Živanović Stana house, Stefanović Natalija house with auxiliary buildings and Nikolić Života tavern building.
Uтврђивању this rural spatial cultural – historical unit was preceded by proclaiming rolling mill Tomašević in Bistrica as a monument of culture in 1982.